Judah Folkman
February 24, 1933 – January 14, 2008 

Judah Folkman Award in Vascular Biology
Presented by NAVBO

The Judah Folkman Award is a mid-career award.  At the time of the Award, nominees will be between 3 and 15 years of their first faculty appointment (Assistant Professor or if in a for-profit environment, Staff Scientist).  

In recognition of the breadth of Dr. Folkman’s interests and his many contributions to vascular biology, the award will not be limited to the field of angiogenesis per se, but will encompass the full range of original research in vascular biology.   Awardee will have made a significant impact on the field through his/her original research accomplishments. 

Congratulations to Tatiana Byzova,
Cleveland Clinic/Lerner Research Institute

2014 Recipient
Judah Folkman Award in Vascular Biology
Award Presentation: Wednesday, October 22,
Asilomar Conference Grounds, Monterey, CA

Mechanisms of cellular integration in vasculature

Nominations are now being accepted at www.navbo.org/awards/nominate


Past Recipients include:
2009 - Luisa Iruela-Arispe, UCLA
2010 - Brant Weinstein, NICHD/NIH
2011 - Holger Gerhardt, UCL, United Kingdom
2012 - Cam Patterson, UNC, Chapel Hill
2013 - Mark Kahn, University of Pennsylvania

Nominations will be solicited from the NAVBO membership for the 2015 Recipient.  Deadline for receipt of a 2015 nomination is July 1, 2014.
A nomination will consist of the following information:  (i) Name and institutional affiliation of the person being nominated for the award. (ii) A brief description (not to exceed 100 words) of the research accomplishments that merit consideration for the Award.  (iii) CV of nominee - must indicate first faculty appointment.  (iv) The nominee need not be a NAVBO member.
  •  Among the nominees obtained, three finalists will be chosen by vote of the Meritorious Awards Committee.  The Folkman Award recipient will then be selected from this list of three finalists by a vote of the members of NAVBO Council and Elected Officers, Scientific Advisory Board, and Meritorious Awards Committee.  The Award recipient must be available to give an Award Lecture at our annual meeting (October  18-22, 2015).
  • The Award will be presented at our annual meeting, NAVBO 2015 Workshops in Vascular Biology.  An Award Lecture will be given followed by a brief award presentation ceremony.  The award will consist of a crystal plaque to commemorate the event and a monetary award. 

Go to www.navbo.org/awards/nominate   

  2013 Award presented to Mark Kahn, M.D., Ph.D. -
 Read more about Dr. Kahn

  2012 Award Presented to Cam Patterson, M.D.  -
  more about this